Departments in Council & their Roles

Council is made up of four departments that work in an integrated approach and their roles are as detailed below

Administration Department

  • To promote sound Human Resource and Administration Management.
  • Manage the provision of clean water and sanitation facilities to the local community.
  • Provision of effective health management.
  • Provision of efficient and effective educational services.
  • Provision of efficient administrative and secretarial services to Council.
  • To provide sound legal advice to the Council.
  • Departmental budget preparation and control.

Finance Department

  • Mobilising revenue.
  • Departmental budget preparation and control.
  • Revenue collection.
  • Management of Council debts and creditors.
  • Budget compilation, coordination and monitoring.
  • Preparation of financial statements.
  • Asset acquisition and custody.
  • Financial advisory role to other Council departments/committees.

Audit Department

  • Risk management.
  • Monitoring of compliance to existing laws and regulations.
  • Designing effective internal controls.
  • Periodic reviews of existing internal controls and making necessary recommendations.
  • Departmental budget preparation and control.
  • Perform special audits as assigned by Council.

Technical Services Department

  • Spatial planning and development control – production of master plan, local plan, layout planning, land mapping and surveying services.
  • Provision of infrastructure for development.
  • Effective building plans approval, inspectorate and maintenance.
  • Efficient plant and equipment maintenance.
  • Promotion of agriculture and sustainable use of natural resources.
  • Departmental budget preparation and control.